Showing posts with label fuel. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fuel. Show all posts

Friday, January 6, 2012

Forced rest day and the Running Fuelling Quest continues for picky GI track

Plantar fasciitis sucks.Thought I would feel better if I scream....but no.
I am blaming the treadmill.  It is all it's fault!
Few days in a row on the machine will get me to have weird aches and pain.
This week I ran mostly at the gym..every day except the one day when  I went on my trail and came face to face with a freak (see previous post for that).  Yesterday I got out of bed and I could tell something was not right.  I went to the gym anyway because I am an idiot.  I have a half marathon to run in 9 days! I have to train!  So It turns out I should have rested.  I iced all day and rolled on the iced bottle and tennis ball and did this:



Today I am resting.  Boooooooo
I need to do my last Long Run this weekend.  I had planned for 10 or 11. We will see how it goes.  I don't want to make things worst of course.  So maybe it will be just 8.
Any tips or advices about how to deal with this are WELCOMED and APPRECIATED.

I am once again looking for fueling solution for my long runs and half marathons races.
For the newer readers, welcome, I have GI issues.  Lots of them.  I also get dehydrated easily and I loose a lot of salt.  All this sent me to the medic tent 4 out of 5 Half Marathons.
Every thing I have tried so far did not work.
This is what I tried




The sports beans are the ones who gave me the least issues but I can only take 1 at the time and that is not enough.  After 5-6 in my system, I get reflux and that is no fun at mile 9. I also tried other gels like Cliff and the honey stinger chews.

For the salt problem I have been taking these
They did help but again not enough.  I get a nice crust on my face and white lines on my hat for 6 miles and up.  Heat or no heat.  Obviously it is worst in the heat and I live in Southern California so the heat is here a lot.
I found these and I bought a bottle

This is the difference between the 2: for Sodium it is 40 mg vs 215 mg.


On my last LR I tried this
They are delicious.
I did not get any reflux.
It is a bit of a pain to carry and also to eat on the run, I did not eat the whole waffle all at once.  I only ate one for a 10 miler.
I know that to get those down I need to stay hydrated. 
Speaking of liquid, on the last LR I had one bottle with NUUN and the other with just water instead of 2 NUUN bottles.  NUUN used to be OK on the runs but during the Holiday Half Marathon it gave me heartburn and reflux and I could not drink it pass mile 9 and ended up dehdrated of course.

This is all very frustrating for me.  I hope that this new combo: salt sticks-waffle-water-NUUN will work better for me.  I am testing it again this weekend and on January 15 for my next half marathon.  Last week I took a salt stick tablets every 30 min.

Do you use these waffles?  How many do you eat?
For new readers: anyone with GI issues uses something I have not tried ?  Anyone with salt lost issue that have success with the salt sticks?



Saturday, March 26, 2011

Me, Keith and Bryan

THANK YOU JIM!!!!
Aren't those great?

I decided to do my long run today in case the rain decide to join the nasty wind we have.  Yes once again some wind for my long run.  I am getting a little tired of it.  9 miles today.  5 of those facing the freaking wind.  At times it was so strong I lost my balance.  Bill's response to that: "Put some weight on!".  No comment.   I took these 2 guys with me in my ears for my run:


I took the picture of Keith the first time I saw him in concert, front row seat, that was greatREALLY GREAT.

I also took EFS liquid shot, this time vanilla flavor.  This one is better for me.  Less sweet. I can even take it while "running".  I have to slow down but no need to actually walk.  Last week I did not take any water with the EFS liquid shot.  This week I took some and followed Chris K's advice and took small sips after taking the shot.  It worked fine for me.  I cannot tell you how happy I am that this stuff works for me.

If I run like I did today for my next half marathon and even If I crash for the last 4 miles (WILL NOT HAPPEN) I would get a PR.  :)

Next week I won't have a long run, I am racing on Saturday (10K) and my best friend from Quebec will be in San Diego for a medical seminar and we are headed there to meet her! I cannot wait!  I have never been to the city of San Diego, I have been to the San Diego Zoo, that's it. 

Now time to go park my behind in front of the TV.  Loved the games yesterday! We have a true Cinderella in the tournament! VCU!  The look on the VCU coach's face says it all:


Yes EMZ I will be cheering for U fo A.
I am still leading my pool, even with Ohio loosing. That is crazy.
I still have a chance to win this thing, I need the CATS to take UConn OUT.
If I win, I will make another donation for EMZ's crazy 24h hour run on a treadmill.  You read that correctly.  If you don't already know about this go here: 

GO CATS!





Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Half way

I am at the half point of my training plan.  This is is going by faster then the first time.
I had a pretty good week.  I am improving on pace and I ran a tempo run outside and it turned out to be easier then doing it on the treadmill.  I ran  8 miles for my long run.  Last time I did 8 miles was when I trained for my 1st half so it was in January.  Saturday I ran my 8 miles 9 minutes faster then I did in January.  That makes me feel really good about my training.  Also I tried a new fuel and it works for me.  So I am optimistic that my second half marathon will be better then my first and not just in terms of time.

WEEK 6
Mon: 4 miles: 4 miles
Tue: stretch and strength + XT: 30 min elliptical and 15 min bike.  Core workout.
Wed: 3 miles: 3 miles tempo
Thu: Speedwork: tempo 40 min yikes!: Speedwork 7x400m: 5 miles total.

Fri: REST: REST
Sat: XT or 3 miles: 8 miles

Sun: 8 miles3 miles
total: 23 miles.

WEEK 7: **Spring Break, I have to change the regular order of my workouts because kids are home, luckily Bill took Mon and Tue off so I was able to run outside! 

Mon: 3 miles: 3 miles
Tue: 4.5 miles: 4.5 miles
Wed: stretch and strength + XT:
Thu: Speedwork:  8x400m:
Fri: REST:
Sat: XT or 3 miles:

Sun: 9 miles


Disneyland Half Marathon is sold out already.  Good thing I signed up early.

Yesterday I got an email about THE BEACH CITIES CHALLENGE.

The Beach Cities Challenge is a race series that includes three Southern California marathons – the Surf City Marathon in Huntington Beach, the Orange County Marathon, and the Long Beach International City Bank Marathon. Runners who complete any combination of half or full marathons in all three events consecutively will receive a special Beach Cities Challenge Medal.


I am already doing the OC and Long Beach one and I had planned on doing Surf City instead of Carlsbad for 2012 so I am in for this Challenge!  A fancy medal is nice but I would prefer a discount on registration fees or a technical shirt. 

Looking forward to Thursday...
This is the shirt I wish I could be wearing:

 


THE CATS ARE GOING DOWN....and will cry like little kittens....meow, meow

GO DUKE!


Saturday, March 19, 2011

Happy!

Today I had 3 miles on the schedule but since we are getting rain this weekend and tomorrow is supposed to be the worst day I decided to go for my long run today.
I waited for a break in the rain and I went out for the 8 miles I was supposed to do tomorrow.  No rain but lot's of WIND.  I would have taken rain and no wind I think.  It went pretty good.  I ran against the wind for the last 4 miles.  I kept a good pace for me. 

I decided to try this new fuel I bought:  EFS Liquid shot.


Chris K is the one who suggested I try this.  THANK YOU!
This is IT for me.
It works! No GI problems, no side pain, no cramps.  It stayed in the stomach.
No more GU or other gels for me!
I am so happy and optimistic for me next half marathon now.
Last time I did so bad at fueling during the race, I hit the wall at mile 11 and I finished completely dehydrated.  I won a pukie award but I felt like crap.

They have 2 flavors of that magic stuff, I tried berry today and next week I will try vanilla.
The only negative thing would be it is a bit sweet, but I did not drink water with it and next week I will.   It goes down very EASY.  It does not taste bad at all. It is great.
It is not cheap but for me it will be worth every penny!  I am a really low maintenance kind of gal so this will be my one crazy expense!!

So for the ones who have GI issues like I do (I have GERD, no gallbladder, gastritis) I am telling you: give this a try if the other stuff is not working for you.

OK off to watch the Aztecs play!
I have them winning so FOR TODAY ONLY AND BECAUSE MY BLUE DEVILS ARE NOT PLAYING TODAY:

GO AZTECS!
So far today I got all the games right and I am still leading the pool
29/34.

DUKE ALL THE WAY



Wednesday, February 9, 2011

EFS Magic potion has arrived!

This arrived today:

I have high hopes that this will work for me.  I cannot wait to test that magic potion.  NO GEL, no Gatorade.  It is not cheap but if it works the it will be worth it.  They were nice and added one extra bottle so I can try both flavors, vanilla and wild berry.  I almost wish I had a longer run on Sunday just to try it but I only have 5 miles.

3 miler this morning, I found something that is close to speed.  I ran this at what I think is my 5k pace and was not even tired at the end.  Maybe I CAN go faster then I think.

Tomorrow is speedwork.  Bring it on.  I have to do it at the gym, I think it will be better, I can control the speed without having to look at my Garmin 123 times per 30 seconds.  Will see how that goes.  I am bringing a bucket in case I need to show everyone what I had for breakfast...oh gross I know.  I kid of course.

Basketball practice in an hour, it is pretty windy here...should be interesting.
Here some pictures of our last game, our best effort so far by a mile no more like by a marathon!

 Before the game, thinking  that I should have eaten something after my 5 miles run.



That's my boy. These made me happy.  They all went IN.

What are they all looking at?  Will on the right asking for the ball  is the only one "in the game"  That was our basket right there.  See the one with the ball looking in the other direction?  I lost my voice yelling "shoot!" 1023 times that day. Notice my shirt?

Better view of my shirt for the Canadian lovers out there.  Kovas and Chris K: you can find these at Target for $7.00.  You're Welcome.

--------------------
****LAST DAY for  this great Giveaway that I really hope I will win!!! : Mike over at 26.2ismycooldown.com is giving away a Tanita BC-1000******
---------------------

Thursday, February 3, 2011

3 things Thursday

1. Ran 3 miles this morning at the gym.  This week so far I ran every day, 1 outside and 3 on the treadmill.  All 3 days inside I got side pain.  It sucks and it hurts.  I have a hard time with those.  I was not going fast, I don't know why I get them more inside.  I tried changing my breathing and slowing down, pushing on it.drinking  little sip of water..nothing works. 

2. Every morning I take Will to school and I wait until the teacher shows up to leave.  Kids have to line up in the school yard and wait for their teacher.  A few parents stay and wait; mostly moms.  Mostly much younger then me moms.   This morning they were talking about getting older and botox (I live in Southern California remember).  I was just listening and then one of them says "Oh YOU, you are older, do you use it?" Geez...first thanks..and second I do have a name it is not YOU.  So I told them that no I don't use botox.  One of them says: "Maybe you should give it a try, you look like you must have been pretty when you were younger!" AOUCH....  This made me laugh mostly.  Who says things like that?

3.  Now that I have 2 half marathons planned I need to find the perfect fuel for me.  For my first half that was a problem.  I tried many different kinds nothing works for me.  The only thing I can tolerate is plain GU but even that is not really great for my GI track.  I am now looking for these:
This looks like the perfect solution for me.  No gel.  Problem is nobody carries them.  I went everywhere.  On their website they have a list of stores who are supposed to be selling these products but so far no luck.  Do you guys use these? Do you buy online only?




Friday, December 3, 2010

Decisions, decisions...

I don't have a fuel belt or bottle.   I never carry water with me on my runs.  I have yet to go long enough to need fuel while I am out.  Now as I move down the weeks on my training plan the miles increase (shocker I know!) so I will need to have a solution for fuel for the long runs.  Since I am a total novice I don't know what to get.  I will need one of these:


I think I belt would get on my nerves and carrying a bottle does not sound good either..I am afraid I would get cramps in my hands or something.  At the half marathon they will have water station at each mile (big race 10000 runners) and GU at mile 4 and 9.  GU,  that is another thing I need to figure out.  I have never tried it and I have major gastric issues so I am afraid of trying it and getting sick.  I know I have to try BEFORE the race.  They are giving 2 flavors:  Chocolate Outrage and Vanilla Bean..I already know I cannot take the chocolate one so that leaves Vanilla.  If my stomach does not like that one I will have to carry my own.  I could use safety pins and pin it to my shorts at the waist and not carry any bottle or belt.  Is that a good decision? Will I regret not carrying my own water?  Even if I decide not to on race day I still need something for the long runs starting next weekend...

What to do, what to do?  I am open to all advices and suggestions if you are reading this and have something to say please do, it will help a novice runner like me!!!

Today was rest day so that is what I did.  Still not sure about tomorrow..I think cross training is what I will do...

Sunday = 5k race day!