Half Marathon #2: DONE!
I ran my first one 3 months ago.
First I want to thank all of you who left me good luck comments here and on twitter and to those who send me messages yesterday to ask about my race!
Race was yesterday in beautiful Newport Beach.
We headed there Saturday afternoon to go to the Expo. That was at the OC Fair. It was the easiest packet pick up! No lines. Lots of people to help the runners.
I got my shirt, I love it (short sleeves tech) and goodie bag (lots of bar samples)
This is the shirt:
After that we went to drive the course. Beautiful course. I have been to Newport before but not to this part of town. I took some pictures while we were driving so this is what I saw during the race:
Ferrari: lots of them!
While on the course I saw that it was not all flat, the second part had some hills and one part was on a trail so I did not get to see it.
We went to the hotel and I realized that it would not be possible for me to just walk to the Fair to take the shuttle at 4:45 am. Not safe enough so I bought a ticket to take the hotel shuttle at 4:45 am. Went to dinner and bed early. Did not sleep good, kind of hard with the kids in the room. Will hit me a dozen times and he even fell off the bed at 2 am!
RACE DAY
Got up at 3:45 am...yikes..got ready and had breakfast in the bathroom (a first for me). On the way to the start I saw the traffic jam on the freeway and was so happy we decided to spend the night in Newport! Got to the starting line at 5 am, start was at 6 am. It was super organized, lots of porta potty, A dozen of UPS trucks were lined up to take bags people wanted to leave behind, trucks were marked with bib numbers and they had extra bags, great service! I was anxious to get going. I was in the 3rd wave so we did not start until 6:25 am. I thought it would be cool in the morning, but no, it was warm, sun was up for the start.
First 6 miles were fantastic. I felt pretty good. The course was fast and the view was beautiful. I was going faster then I should have. I knew it but I also knew some hills were coming and that I would slow down so I just kept going. They had lots of water stations with a lot of volunteers to hand water and Gatorade. I had my belt so I pass the first few, they were crowded and I did not need to stop at that point.
At mile 6 I decided to take my first sip of EFS liquid shot and it did not go down well. NOT GOOD. I just could not swallow it, I thought I was going to throw up if I took more. I got worried and I knew I would get in trouble without any fuel. Good thing I had taken 3 salt tablets before the start and I had 4 more in my belt. I took 2 more then and started drinking more water. It was getting hotter and the strong winds joined the party without an invite, so rude.
Second half was difficult. Weather was worst and more hills. Bill was supposed to be around mile 8. Mile 8 was actually on the trail and spectators could not be on that part of the course. That was a hard section. Nasty winds, narrow hilly path. A lot of people stopped running and walked and it was impossible to pass anyone there. I got frustrated because I knew if I walk there I will loose my pace. And I did. I saw the parking where Bill said he would parked and did not see our car. That was a low point for me mentally. I was looking forward to seeing my family and to get rid of my belt that was hurting me (got a nice bruise on my hip) and I wanted to grab extra water that Bill was supposed to bring for me.
Mile 9: there they were!!!!!
Can you tell I was HAPPY to see them??!
Gave my belt to Bill and took bottle of water, kissed the boys and kept going.
I was getting tired. It was hard to face those crazy winds. My pace had slowed down. My legs felt heavy and I started cramping. I took Gatorade even though I am not supposed to drink that but I had no choice I could not swallow my liquid shot, not even small sips. I started to calculate what could be my finish time if the split for this next mile is this or that and that was driving me insane! I did not hit the wall like last time but it was close. Last time I actually stopped moving, not yesterday. At mile 11 one last hill...we could see it from far. They had a water station right before it. I decided to grab 2 cups and I ran until I reached the hill and then I walked to drink. From there until the end it was run/very short walk. I tried to pick up the pace and I thought I was then I would look at my Garmin and see that I wasn't. Finally I entered the Fair grounds. I knew the end was near. I so wanted to sprint. My legs had other plans. They won that argument. I finished running but no sprint.
Bill and the boys were there but I could not see them. They had a really bad spot so no good pictures of the finish. Just that one:
And this one after I got my pretty medal:
I look like I was feeling: like CRAP. Guy with sunglasses on the right: Medic.
And so once again this happened:
A trip to the medic tent.
Before the medic got me I got really close to passing out. Took more Gatorade. I was cramping really bad, legs and stomach also.
I did not want to get Bill worried so I drank 6-8 glasses of water and Gatorade, stood up for the medic and left. I found Bill and the boys.
Medal is nice
Volunteers were giving runners bags with banana, water, granola bar, again really organized.
So this was a great race. I loved it. I will do it again. It was hard because of the crazy winds and it was hot. The fuel problems...I got to work on this again.
I did get a PR. 7 minutes off my first half. 2:35. I am happy with that, for now. I know I can do better. I am still slow but I am 7 minutes less slow then before! I ran a better race and it was faster then my first half. I went to look at official results and their time was different then what I had on my watch by more then 1 minute (my watch: better time). I thought of course theirs is the correct one. But today I got email that time posted needed to be revised.
I was in a lot of pain with severe stomach cramps for several hours following the race. Took 6 hours before I could eat something. I was laying on the floor with my dog thinking "Am I crazy? Why do I do this to myself?" But it passed. I am not crazy. Today stomach is OK my legs are not happy but they will get over it. I did not run today but tomorrow will attempt a 2-3 miles on the treadmill.
Next race: JUNE 5th 10k in my hometown Quebec city.
Thank you for reading and for your support!!!
This race was also the last part of my COOL KIDS VIRTUAL MARATHON.
Thank you Neil for hosting this!!!!